Moving On Up (North)

So this morning I was awoken to a few consecutive text messages and then my brother, Craig calling me. “So did you get the photos?” The text messages were photos of a little house. He then told me how him & his boss just went to a showing and thought that this one would work for me. He’s been up there for work and has been searching around for places with his boss because she needs to find a place up there, too along with some other conservation corps employees. I talked to both of them for a while about how the house looks and everything, then hung up and called the landlord right away. We had a very quick chat and that was it! I’m moving up there on the 8th! Wow, wham, bam, thank you ma’am! And all at the same time Craig said that they might have found some job leads for me too! All of it’s just happening so quick now!

So a little backstory: Last fall Craig and I took a really short trip up north. We pretty much just drove all of the way to Grand Marais then back the next day stopping at as many parks as we could along the way. Now it’s no secret that I’m not fond of the way my life is right now. I’m stuck in a rut. The only thing for me here is friends and family which, of course is huge. But I don’t feel any connection to where I am besides that. There’s nothing here that makes me feel happy or inspired besides those two things and it’s just not a place that I can see myself at for much longer at all. I feel like I’m literally rotting away here, not doing anything with myself and not really even living. So, spring comes around and I start thinking about where I would really like to live. I can’t remember exactly how but I came to the conclusion that it would be good for me to move to Grand Marais. So after a couple of months of obsessively searching I finally have a place to go!

Some things I’m excited about =

How freaking beautiful it is up there!, I’ll be living in a harbor town (I’m in love with all things nautical) and can pretend like I’m living in New England, the endless hiking, camping, biking, canoeing, & nature opportunities, summer festivals, maybe I’ll learn something new at the North House Folk School or Art Colony, & I’ll actually be living in a town. I’m so excited that I’ll be able to walk or bike everywhere! Living out in the country is nice for privacy but it’s a pain to have to drive into town every time you need something. I guess that I’ll be saving on gas money by not using my car much but then again it costs so much just to drive up there & to come back for family events.

Of course I’m nervous too. I’ve never lived on my own before so that will be a new experience. Plus I don’t know anyone up there. I’ll sure be lonely for a while with no family or friends, that’s for sure.

So now I have to figure out what to tell them at work tomorrow. I can’t do a two week notice because, well, I don’t have two weeks. I need enough time to pack, run errands, & see my friends before I go so I have to make up my mind about that tonight.

p.s: Going through my calander and deleting my “work days” felt so good! I can’t wait to get out of that place.

Leave a Reply

