DIY Natural Laundry Soap

I came across this super, easy peasy way of making your own laundry soap via Pinterest and decided to give it a try. You only need three ingredients:Borax, washing soda, & a bar of soap. Yup, that’s all. The original recipe calls for Fels-Naptha Soap but I looked at the ingredients and turns out that Fels-Naptha is made with tallow. Now, I don’t know about you but the idea of washing my clothes with fat grosses me out. 

Luckily I was able to find some Dr. Bronner’s soap at the the co-op. Oh, and this stuff smells absolutely delightful!

The steps in putting everything together are as simple as the ingredients. Grate the entire bar of soap,

add a cup of borax, and a cup of washing soda,

mix (I just put the cover on & shook it up) and you’re all done! Use one tablespoon per load of laundry.

Leave a Reply

