September?!

Goodness gracious! I can’t believe that it’s September already (AKA time to freak out)! Okay, I’m going to try to not freak out but I can’t guarantee it. This is officially my last month in the place that I now reside. I have to be out by October because this little place isn’t winter friendly. And guess what? I haven’t figured out where I’m moving to yet. I have a few leads but nothing is for sure yet. I feel like it was a pretty big decision to say that I’m sticking out the winter here. I’m pretty nervous about it and not exactly the biggest fan of that season but you wouldn’t believe how many people up here say that winter is actually their favorite season in Grand Marais. I’m sure that it will be interesting anyhow. I guess that there’s skiing, snowshoeing, and dog sledding. I also keep imagining the stunning boreal forest covered in white and the harbor & lighthouse decorated with ice. Oh, and the fall/winter Lake Superior storms whipping up violent waves!

Of course August flew by just as fast, if not more so than all of the other summer months. Unfortunately time flies when you’re having fun, right? A quick way to describe this month would be: summer festivals, parties, live music, & fires. Just like all of the other wonderful, previous months of this summer.

As soon as August hit it felt like everything was put into a transition phase that’s speeding up and becoming stronger as the season changes. Days are getting shorter and nights are getting cold. Some people have moved back home, gone to school, are moving to the cities. Plenty of people that I have met aren’t going to be staying for the winter and I’ll/do miss them. But, I am looking forward to autumn up here. I can’t think of a more beautiful place to be for the coming season, well any season. I think back to all of the trips that my family would take in the fall to see the colors up north. Well, now I’m living there. I don’t have to try & cram it all into a quick trip. I get to live surrounded by it and slowly sip in that beauty all season long.

Leave a Reply

