Ah Yes, The Annual Descent into Darkness

Welp, yesterday was already the end of daylight savings and the clocks got moved back by an hour. So now it gets dark a little after 4:30pm. Great. I think that Jeremy, Ellie, & I realised this yesterday as we were madly dashing out the door to hop onto our bikes to try and get back home from errands before dark. I’m so glad that I bought lights for my bike, as they’ve come in handy quite often.

Cabin fever hasn’t set in completely yet, so that’s good. I’ve been telling myself that I’m going to keep busy this winter and hopefully even get into shape. I’m not fat, yet. In fact this summer I was the thinnest and most active I’ve been since high school!  But if I keep sitting around inside out of the cold on days off I know it’ll happen especially with spending so much time around others that love food just as much as me. I really want to get a pool pass. I think it would be a good idea to spend time in someplace warm, use the sauna, and swim around this winter. I heard that they have a sale in December for 50% off a pass, so let’s see if I can wait that long. Other than that people around here are really big into skiing, snowshoeing, ice skating, & winter camping. I was really set on joing the curling club until I went to the open house and decided that it wasn’t something that I could get too enthusiastic about. I was just asked what I was most excited about and had to say “spring”. It’s only half a year away! Yikes! Oh well, hopefully looking forward to spring can propel and motivate me through winter. Like getting into really good shape for all of the spring and summer adventure to come! Yes! Motivation! Arrrggghhhh!!!!

In the meantime I’ve been looking at photos like THESE trying to psych myself up for how beautiful it’s going to be!

Leave a Reply

