I’ve been waiting for the “gales of November” to start up and I got a little taste today. I was bumming out because I had to work today and the marine forecast said “Waves 9 to 11 ft building to 10 to 14 ft in the late morning and afternoon.” But I compromised and ran out onto the beach during my lunch break. After I took this video I made my way up to East Bay Suite’s breakwall thinking that I’d be high and dry there since the whole beach was being taken over by water. Well think again. I was standing at the edge fiddling with the camcorder on my phone when a wave crashed over the wall on top of me. I think that the waves were actually starting to build a bit but I had to get back to work, soaked to the bone from the waist down (thanks to a really good rain jacket). Rain pants are now on my wishlist.

p.s: Today is also the anniversary of the sinking of the Edmund Fitzgerald!

Leave a Reply

