2012

This has been a truly fortuitous year for me.

So much has changed. It has been the year of change.

Moving to Grand Marais this past May has been one of the best decisions that I have made thus far. I wasn’t just in a funk. I was downright depressed with where I was and I needed a way out. Thank goodness that I found this place and decided to make that blind leap. I didn’t know what I was doing. I still don’t know exactly what I’m “doing”. Right now I just am. And I’m pretty darn happy. Yes, I still have worries but it’s so much less now. Before I was working a job that I absolutely loathed and was physically breaking me down. I lived in a town that I could find no joy or inspiration in. I was scared to just pack up and move somewhere that I didn’t know anyone and without a job waiting for me. But I just did it. I had to. I’m so glad that I did. Everything happened so serendipitously and just fell into place. I’m so lucky to have ended up in a town of such tremendous beauty and such a wonderful community. I had never thought of myself as a people person and was pretty socially deprived and awkward. Well, I’m still awkward. But I just couldn’t believe how amazing and inviting the people were to me. Everyone is so laid back but adventurous at the same time, artistic, musically talented, outdoorsy, and just downright friendly. I love finally feeling like I’m a part of a community.

This year has been a year of transformation, personal growth, new friends, a year of firsts. I find myself saying all of the time “I’ve never done that before!” And then doing it. Beauty that constantly leaves me awestruck.

Happiness.

I can’t wait to see what 2013 will bring. What kind of adventures and amazing experiences there are to be had.

Leave a Reply

